The Fellowship of Australian Writers Queensland, or FAWQ, is and always has been a significant force in Queensland’s cultural life. It was at the forefront of lobbying for a Cultural Centre in Brisbane, worked tirelessly to establish the Queensland Writers Centre and was closely involved in the  planning and conduct of the annual Writers Convention, which evolved into the Warana Writers Week and is now the Brisbane Writers Festival.

  • 2017 marked the Fellowship of Australian Writers – Queensland’s  95 years of writing and our magazine Scope’s 60 years of publication.
  • 2021 marked the centenary of this distinguished and influential Australian Writers group, setting in motion many large cultural events, leading up to and during our 100 year celebrations. Sadly we suffered some cancellations due to the Covid pandemic.
  • 2023 We continue to strive to assist writers of all levels to achieve their dreams.
  • 2024 A new administration and management committee was sworn in as of the 9/03.2024, to continue the good work of connection and facilities for Queensland writers of all levels. The 2024 team is as below.
  • President – Dr. Jim Page
  • Secretary – Lexcia Dalton
  • Treasurer – Virginia Miranda
  • Committee – Russell Perry, Tracey Zielinski, Peter Perkins, Sally Eberhardt


Like Us On Facebook

Facebook Pagelike Widget